2013 Metro Club of the Year:
Dartmouth Club of Greater Boston

Henry Ford once said "Coming together is a beginning; keeping together is progress; working together is success." The Dartmouth Club of Greater Boston is the epitome of this statement.

As the oldest and largest alumni club in the world, Boston has plenty of past experience to strengthen its efforts while at the same time the sheer size and diversity of its constituency, results in an interesting set of challenges. The officers of the club, led by President Chip Conner `85, work tirelessly with each other and teams of volunteers to offer a wide variety of social events ranging from an evening with the Boston Pops to Red Sox games, Aires concerts, film screenings and the Head of the Charles Regatta, just to list a few of their offerings in 2013. On the civic side, they organized 18 different community service events attracting over 90 alumni and 30 guests.

The club also invests a great deal of time and energy to future and current Dartmouth students. Thanks to the tremendous groundwork laid by Reverend Donald Fitzsimmons `46, Boston has the most comprehensive Book Awards Program in the world, bestowing 125 copies of "The Poems of Robert Frost" to deserving high school juniors in their area each year. No other club comes even close to that number. In addition, Boston has one of the largest alumni interviewing programs; 940 interviews of potential members of the Class of 2017 were completed by 373 alumni interviewers. The 131 accepted students were also personally visited by an alumni club volunteer who presented them with a Dartmouth t-shirt. Once the students are on campus, the club continues their support through a robust scholarship program.

Only through a great deal of determination, amazing teamwork and a comprehensive communications plan can a club continue to offer such a healthy set of programs each and every year. Henry Ford would be very proud of Beantown.

Congratulations to the Dartmouth Club of Greater Boston for being selected the 2013 Metro Club of the Year.