Dartmouth, the Arctic, the Future
Stockholm, Sweden
Wednesday, November 5, 2014
Villa Åkerlund

U.S. Ambassador to Sweden Join fellow alumni, family, and friends for an evening with Mark F. Brzezinski ’87, the U.S. ambassador to Sweden, at "Dartmouth, the Arctic, the Future" on Wednesday, November 5. The event begins at 4 p.m. Central European Time and will be held at Villa Åkerlund, the U.S. Ambassador's residence in Stockholm, Sweden. This event is by invitation of the American Embassy, so if you are interested in participating, please let us know by October 29.

The evening begins with a welcome from Martha Beattie '76, vice president of Alumni Relations, followed by a panel discussion hosted by Ambassador Brzezinski. Panelists include:

  • Ross Virginia, Myers Family professor of Environmental Science and director of the Institute of Arctic Studies within the Dickey Center for International Understanding at Dartmouth College.
  • Lindsay Whaley, professor of linguistics and classics at Dartmouth College and member of the Board of Governors for the University of the Arctic.
  • Björn Dahlbäck, director-general of the Swedish Polar Research Secretariat
  • Mattias Klum, world-renowned nature photographer and the first Swede to have his work on the cover of National Geographic.

A reception with wine and passed appetizers will follow the panel discussion.

This event is subsidized by Dartmouth's Office of Alumni Relations and organized in conjunction with the Provost’s Office of International Initiatives, Dickey Center's Institute of Arctic Studies, and the American Embassy in Stockholm. To learn more about this program, please contact ar.ace@dartmouth.edu.

Top photo credit: Alexandra Giese


Video: Professor Ross Virginia, Director of Dartmouth's Institute of Arctic Studies at the Dickey Center, talks about the long and distinguished history of Dartmouth in the Arctic and explains the effects of climate change on fragile Arctic environments.

News:  Professor Virginia was selected by the U.S. State Department as one of two distinguished scholar leaders of the newly established Fulbright Arctic Initiative.