Back to Association of Alumni meeting minutes archive

November 30, 2009: Conference Call

Participants: Otho Kerr, Veree Brown, Ron Schram, David Spalding, Lynne Gaudet, John Engelman, John Mathias, Ron Harris, John Mathias, Doug Keare, Cheryl Bascomb

Unavailable: Marian Baldauf, Kaitlyn Jaxheimer


1. Approval of Minutes of October 22, 2009 Executive Committee Conference Call (see enclosure)

2. Report on Balloting and Nominating Committees

3. Meeting with Ed Haldeman

Ron Harris made a motion to approve the October 22, 2009 minutes. Doug Keare seconded the motion which passed unanimously.

John Mathias reported that the Balloting Committee members are Cheryl Bascomb, Ron Harris, David Spalding (secretary pro-tem) and himself as chair. The Nominating Committee members are Cheryl, John Engelman, and John Mathias as chair. All current members, who are eligible, have agreed to run again. The Nominating Committee plans to put forward Lynne Gaudet's name as secretary-treasurer. Other names are in consideration to fill the vacancy left by Cheryl Bascomb.

The Balloting Committee's work is to decide how to implement the recommendations of the ERSC; candidate word count and the look of the ballot to name a few. Consideration must be given to the cost of ballot production and mailing.

The Alumni Council nominated candidates will be identified as Vacancy #1 and Vacancy #2. The petition candidate or candidates must each select which vacancy he/she will run for.

John Mathias explained how the final interview process works with the Alumni Council Nominating Committee.

John Mathias has scheduled a meeting with Trustee Ed Haldeman at his McLean, VA office on December 15 at 11:00 a.m. The meeting is to continue his discussion with Ed on whether the board would consider at some point increasing the number of elected trustees. All AOA Executive Committee members are invited to attend. Ron Harris and Doug Keare expressed an interest in attending in person. John will check on phone conferencing capabilities for this meeting. Discussion ensued.

John Engelman made a motion to adjourn the meeting which was seconded by Veree Brown. The motion was unanimously passed.

Respectfully submitted,

David Spalding
Association of Alumni