• Dartmouth Alumni Association Election Results: New Executive Committee Elected; Constitutional Amendment Passes

    Saturday, May 9, 2009


HANOVER, NH--The Dartmouth College Office of Alumni Relations today announced the election of a new Association of Alumni Executive Committee and the passage of an amendment to the association's constitution.

Alumni voted to accept the proposed change to the association constitution that was included on the election ballot by a vote of 10,375 "yes" (81.9 percent) to 2,293 "no" (18.1 percent). There were 12,668 votes cast on the proposed amendment. The amendment required a two-thirds supermajority of voting alumni to pass. The amendment modifies the way in which alumni nominate trustees to the Dartmouth College Board of Trustees.

"I am pleased that the alumni supported the amendment," said board chairman Charles E. Haldeman '70. "I believe that the implementation of these new nomination procedures will help bring additional highly qualified alumni to the board."

"This amendment implements head-to-head trustee candidate races, majority victories, and a simpler voting procedure, and it leaves the petition process unchanged," said association president John H. Mathias Jr. '69. "These are all very welcome improvements."

There were 12,808 ballots cast in the election. Approximately 19.5 percent of the Dartmouth alumni body participated.

The following alumni were elected to the Association of Alumni Executive Committee. Their vote totals are in parentheses.

Executive Committee Officers

John H. Mathias Jr. '69 (10,701)

First Vice President:
Veree Hawkins Brown '93 (10,604)

Second Vice President:
Douglas Keare '56, '57Th, '57Tu (10,656)

David P. Spalding '76 (10,670)

Executive Committee Members

Marian Zischke Baldauf '84 (10,402)
Cheryl Bascomb '82 (10,460)
John Engelman '68 (10,492)
Ronald Harris '71 (10,407)
Kaitlin Jaxheimer '05 (10,327)
Otho Kerr, III '79 (10,414)
Ronald Schram '64 (10,483)

Approximately 72 percent of ballots were cast online, and 28 percent were voted by paper. Balloting began March 25, 2009, and closed at midnight May 6 for receipt of online and mailed ballots.

The vote count was administered by TrueBallot Inc. (TBI), an independent election administration company that ensures the security, accuracy, and impartiality of association and other types of elections. TBI was contracted by the Association of Alumni and Dartmouth College to manage all balloting, ballot counting, and personal email reminders.

For more information about the 2009 Dartmouth Association of Alumni election, please visit www.voxthevote.org.