Back to Association of Alumni meeting minutes archive
June 22, 2011: Conference Call

Participants: John "JB" Daukas, Gary Love, Mark Alperin, Ann Fritz Hackett, Kiyoe Hashimoto, Gersh Abraham, Kate Strayer-Benton, Lynne Gaudet, Martha Beattie

Unavailable: Jeff Crowe, Pete Bleyler, Belinda Chiu

Mark Alperin moved that the minutes of the April 9, 2011 annual meeting be approved. The motion was seconded and passed unanimously.

Kate Strayer-Benton moved that the minutes of the April 11, 2011 Executive Committee conference call be approved. The motion was seconded and passed unanimously.

The 2012 AOA and alumni trustee election timeline was discussed. The 2012 election timeline is a schedule that is sensitive to parameters set by both the Association of Alumni Constitution and Executive Committee guidelines, and to printing and mailing requirements and deadlines. A draft of the 2012 election timeline for both the alumni trustee election process and the Association of Alumni Executive Committee election process was reviewed and discussed. The committee agreed to add the June/July trustee announcement by the Board of Trustees regarding alumni trustee vacancies and subsequent notification required by the constitution of the Association of Alumni. Three extensions were also approved which would avoid two Sunday deadline requirements as well as deadline requirements during the College's December winter break.

The Executive Committee unanimously approved a postcard which will be mailed first class to alumni following the fall meeting of the Alumni Council to inform them about the Alumni Council candidates and provide information about the petition process.

Three revisions to the Association of Alumni's Alumni Trustee Nomination and Balloting Guidelines were discussed and approved.

A discussion about the three alumni-nominated trustee vacancies followed. The committee also discussed the Association of Alumni blog.

The next conference call will be scheduled for mid-August.

Respectfully submitted,
Lynne Gaudet
Secretary Treasurer