Back to Association of Alumni meeting minutes archive
April 16, 2010: Conference Call

Participants: John Mathias, Lynne Gaudet, Marian Baldauf, Mark Alperin, Ron Schram, John Engleman, Ron Harris, John Mathias, Doug Keare, Veree Brown, David Spalding

Unavailable: Otho Kerr, Kaitlyn Jaxheimer

1. Approval of January 6, 2010, AoA minutes

Doug Keare made the motion to approve the minutes of the January 6, 2010 meeting. The motion was seconded and passed unanimously.

2. Approval of April 10, 2010, AoA annual meeting minutes

A motion was made to approve the minutes of the April 10, 2010 annual meeting of the Association of Alumni of Dartmouth College. The motion was seconded and unanimously approved.

3. 2010 election debrief

President John Mathias thanked the executive committee and its individual members for their hard work during the election period. A debriefing covering both the positive and negative aspects of the election ensued.

4. Next steps

President John Mathias recommended the committee act on an earlier decision to continue a discussion with the Board of Trustees, specifically its new chairman Steven Mandel, regarding the number of alumni-nominated trustees on the Board. Secretary Lynne Gaudet will contact Marcia Kelly, secretary to the Board of Trustees regarding potential dates this summer for such a conversation to take place. Lynne will report back to the committee.

5. Election Reform Study Committee

After a brief discussion, Ron Schram recommended the Executive Committee have its conversation with chairman Mandel prior to taking further action regarding election reform. Among the items it would like to address relative to reform are the impact of current and past litigation and the financial cost to run for an alumni-nominated trustee position. The committee agreed to have its meeting with Mr. Mandel and other board members first.

6. Resolution

John Engelman made the motion to accept John Mathias's resolution of gratitude to outgoing Executive Committee members Cheryl Bascomb and David Spalding. The motion was seconded and unanimously approved.

It is hereby resolved that:

The Association of Alumni of Dartmouth College extends its deepest thanks to Cheryl Bascomb and David Spalding for your extraordinary service over the past three years as officers of its Executive Committee. Your consistently exemplary wisdom, judgment, and grace have benefited all alumni/ae and our beloved College for years to come.

Respectfully submitted,

Lynne Gaudet
Association of Alumni