At the Commencement ceremony, President Hanlon will deliver his final valedictory address as president, and a valedictorian from the senior class will address the graduates.

Class of 1997 classmates Phil Lord and Chris Miller, whose more than two-decade-long creative partnership has earned an Academy Award and gained over $3.3 billion at the worldwide box office, will jointly address the Class of 2023.

In addition to Lord and Miller, four leaders in the fields of engineering, sociology, medicine, and environmental law will receive honorary degrees at Commencement:

Gilda Barabino, president of Olin College of Engineering

Jennifer Carlson ’04, associate professor in sociology and government and public policy at the University of Arizona

Andrea Hayes Dixon ’87, MED ’91, professor and chair of surgery at Howard University School of Medicine

Benjamin “Ben” Wilson ’73, leading environmental litigator and former Dartmouth trustee

No tickets are required for seating on the Green.

Guests are encouraged to take their seats by 8:30 a.m.

9:00 am Academic Procession
9:30 am Commencement Ceremony

Commencement exercises will take place outdoors rain or shine. 

Most up-to-date information can be found on the Commencement website.