• Vox the Vote: Candidates Are Announced for 2008 Association of Alumni Election

    Monday, March 17, 2008

The candidates for the annual election of Dartmouth Association of Alumni officers and Executive Committee members have been announced.

Elect new officers of the
Association of Alumni:
April 28-June 5

Alumni will be asked to elect a president, first vice president, second vice president, secretary-treasurer, and seven committee members of the association. The election runs from April 28 through June 5, 2008.

There are 22 candidates running on two different slates. The first set of 11 candidates was nominated by the Nominating Committee of the association, and the second set was nominated by petition.

All alumni are members of the Association of Alumni, which was founded in 1854. Since the formation in 1913 of the Dartmouth Alumni Council, the association's primary responsibilities have been to run its annual meeting and to oversee balloting among the alumni to select alumni-nominated trustee candidates for the Dartmouth College Board of Trustees.

In 2006, the Association Executive Committee voted to permit all-media voting in Association of Alumni elections (voting was previously restricted to alumni attending the association's annual meeting in Hanover). This year's election will be the second alumni-wide association vote ever held.

The nominated slate of candidates includes:

President: John H. Mathias Jr. '69

First Vice President: Cheryl A. Bascomb '82

Second Vice President: Douglas H. Keare '56, '57Th, '57Tu

Secretary-Treasurer: David P. Spalding '76

Executive Committee members: Marian Zischke Baldauf '84, Veree Hawkins Brown '93, John S. Engelman '68, Ronald G. Harris '71, Kaitlin Jaxheimer '05, Otho E. Kerr III '79, Ronald B. Schram '64

The petition slate of candidates includes:

President: J. Michael Murphy '61

First Vice President: Martin R. Boles '80

Second Vice President: Paul Mirengoff '71

Secretary-Treasurer: F. Marian Chambers '76

Executive Committee members: Frank Gado '58, Marjory Grant Ross '81, Zach Hafer '99, Alexander X. Mooney '93, Richard Roberts '83, John Steel '54, Charles J. Urstadt '49, '51Tu

All Dartmouth alumni are eligible to vote. Alumni will receive a printed ballot at the end of April and can vote by mail or online. Voting will also be available to alumni who attend the annual meeting in Hanover, New Hampshire, on June 10. For more information about the election, visit www.voxthevote.org.