• Class Officers Weekend 2010: Gathering of Alumni Volunteers Who Help Make Dartmouth Magic Happen

    Saturday, October 2, 2010
    News Type

Although campus was ablaze with fall colors, green dominated Class Officers Weekend, held Oct. 1–2 in Hanover. Seventy classes, from the Class of 1929 through the Class of 2010, were represented by almost 100 alumni volunteers at this annual meeting, which included an address by President Jim Yong Kim, award presentations, talks by faculty and administrators on what's new at Dartmouth, and workshops on the latest organizational tools available to these members of the front line of Dartmouth service.

The Class of 1979 was named the 2010 Class of the Year,
26 Years Out and Older. (photo: Joe Mehling '69)

"You are part of the proudest, most devoted alumni body in the United States," President Kim said, addressing the officers at dinner in Alumni Gym on Friday night. 

He gave a brief recap of the history of Dartmouth alumni service, locating its origins in John Wheelock's travels through England and Europe in the 1770s to raise money for the new College. Bringing it up-to-date, he shared some numbers on last year's class activities: alumni class officers contributed 378 columns to Dartmouth Alumni Magazine, sent 211 newsletters to their classmates, and held 283 executive committee meetings.

President Kim shared campus news on the appointment of Albert Mulley '70, MD, MPP, to head the new Dartmouth Center for Health Care Delivery Science; the appointment of Harry Sheehy, formerly of Williams College, as athletics director; and the launch of the Dartmouth Presidential Lecture Series. He said a faculty committee is working on restructuring the sophomore summer experience, with the possibility of bringing back the Great Issues lectures popular with many alumni.

On the budget front, the president updated the officers on various centralization initiatives designed to save money, the latest being the consolidation of some departmental financial roles into a few finance centers. ""We're trying to save money on the back end, so we can invest even more in where the magic happens – the student-faculty experience in the classroom," he said, prompting a round of applause.

The officers also learned from faculty and students about a few facets of Dartmouth's extensive presence in the world beyond the Hanover Plain, including Dartmouth Response to Haiti, widely acknowledged to be a national model; the annual cross-country tour of the Big Green Bus, the student sustainability education vehicle; and the Dartmouth Entrepreneurial Network. founded in 2000 by Professor Greg Fairbrothers '76. 

The Class of 2009 was named the 2010 Class of the Year,
25 Years Out and Younger. (photo:
Joe Mehling '69)

Wayne Davis '73, '79Tu was presented with the 2010 Dartmouth Alumni Award from the Alumni Council. Davis said he's never forgotten what it meant to him to  get financial aid to attend Dartmouth, and he's worked to make sure new students have the same opportunity.

"I get up every morning feeling thankful for the gifts that have been given me, and hoping to use them to make the greatest contribution I can," said Davis. He has served in nearly a dozen leadership roles for the Class of 1973 and the College.

Ken Johansen '60, president of the Class Officers Association, and H. Randall Morgan '87, president-elect, presented awards to classes and individual alumni for inspired service. In the past year, many class volunteers showed great energy and creativity in their efforts toward engaging alumni and serving the College, ranging from starting a new email newsletter on up to organizing a pre-Reunion teleconference with President Kim and the Class of 1953's fundraising for the Class of 1953 Commons.

2010 Class of the Year Awards:

Class of the Year 26 Years Out and Older:  Class of 1979
Honorable Mention: Class of 1960
Special recognition:Classes of1953, 1980, and 1981

Class of the Year 25 Years Out and Younger: Class of 2009
Honorable Mention: Class of 1987
Special recognition:  Class of 1986

Class President of the Year, 26 Years Out and Older:  Gregory Clow '81

Class President of the Year, 25 years Out and Younger: Luke Antal '07

William H. Scherman '34 Award for Class Newsletter Editor of the Year 26 Years Out and Older: Mark Winkler '79

William H. Scherman '34 Award for Class Newsletter Editor of the Year 25 Years Out and Younger: Lauren Breach '09, Rembert Browne '09, and Zach Swiss '09

Class Treasurer of the Year 26 Years Out and Older: William Moorman '60

Class Treasurer of the Year 25 Years Out and Younger: Conor Frantzen '08

Gift Planning Chair of the Year: Philip Kron '60

Class Secretary of the Year: Lauren Cummings '72

Class Webmaster of the Year: Mark Tomalonis '79  

Donald C. Smith '53 Award In Recognition of an Outstanding Mini-Reunion Program: Class of 2009


COW 2010 Photo Gallery