• Alumni Council Marks a Milestone: More Than 100 Councilors Gather for 200th Session

    Wednesday, May 26, 2010

by Diana Lawrence

The mood was festive and a little nostalgic as alumni councilors descended on Hanover for the historic 200th meeting of the Dartmouth Alumni Council on May 20. Many former councilors and a dozen past council presidents were also on hand to mark the occasion.

Councilors held dinner discussions with students, attended a range of undergraduate classes, participated in a popular student career networking event in Collis Center, and heard from President Jim Yong Kim and members of the board of trustees. They also received College updates on athletics, admissions, strategic planning, and fundraising.

Outgoing council president Janine Avner '80 passed the gavel to new president Tom Peisch '70 and the councilors chose Danielle Dyer '81, '89Tu as president-elect.

Congratulations to Martha Johnson Beattie '76 and Dr. Rick Silverman '81, who were honored with the prestigious Dartmouth Alumni Award. The award recognizes their extraordinary service to Dartmouth and their community, as well as career accomplishment.

More than 100 current and former councilors met for the 200th session of the Dartmouth Alumni Council, held in Hanover on May 20-22. (photo: Joe Mehling '69)

See more photos of the council's meeting at our Alumni Events Flickr Site.

Diana Lawrence is the director of the Communications Unit in the Alumni Relations Office.