May 17–19, 2018

Chair David Silbersweig ’82 opened the meeting by reviewing the previous meeting’s minutes. The motion passed to accept the minutes.

Robin Albing Tu’81 presented highlights from the Dartmouth on Location (DOL) program, noting that the four keys to a successful event are a targeted audience, a compelling venue, a blockbuster exhibit, and a superstar faculty presenter. She showcased the Matisse event at the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston, the Michelangelo event at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in NYC, and the National Museum of African American History event in DC. With the aid of survey data, the DOL staff fine tune topics, locations, dates/times, and speakers for events. Promotion of these exciting events includes save the date emails, registration emails, and the social media campaigns.

Albing updated the committee on how the campaign and the 250th celebration will be integrated into 2019 plans for Alumni Lifelong Learning and Travel. A series of “Super DOLs” will kick off in NYC on January 12 with ice skating under the green-lit One World Trade Center.  Other events will follow in DC, Denver, Seattle, Philadelphia, Los Angeles, Chicago, the Bay Area, and finally Boston on December 13. Volunteer host committees will be needed in each city.

Albing added that Alumni Travel sponsors 35–40 trips per year involving 700–800 travelers. Faculty accompany most trips as hosts and speakers while tour guide duties are assumed by tour operators. Some trips focus on family or service. New programmatic ideas are welcome, particularly if committee members hear about high-quality exhibits or events coming to their cities. The videos of various faculty lectures can be viewed online.

Professor Susan Ackerman ’80 spoke with the group about her work with the DOL and travel programs. Since the DOL program began in 2008, they have slowly moved away from all-day events held on weekends to shorter weeknight events that are more accessible to all ages.

The committee then discussed the Rassias Award and the nomination process. Silbersweig read a description of the Rassias Award to remind the committee that the award is for faculty who demonstrate engagement with alumni, not for professors alumni remember fondly from their student days. The award was to be presented that day to professors Susan Ackerman and Vicki May.

Suggestions for next meeting’s agenda included the inclusive excellence initiative, the House Communities, faculty workloads, best practices for overall faculty career tracks, the tenure process, and the Living and Learning Communities.

Brandi Johnson ’01 will become chair of the committee. Jonathan Lazarow ’05 was elected as vice-chair.