October 20-22, 2016

Chair Mary Dengler ’96 opened the meeting, introduced herself and Vice Chair David Silbersweig ’82, and went over the agenda. Dengler reviewed the mission of the committee, which was revised about a year ago. Since the revision of the mission there have been presentations about some of the new academic initiatives on campus, including digital learning.

Secretary Robin Albing Tu’81 gave an update about the John D. Rassias Faculty Recognition Award. The first award will be presented at the spring 2017 Alumni Council meeting. The committee will solicit nominations by the end of 2016 and work with the academic deans, the Provost’s office and Alumni Relations to make the final selection(s).

The committee then heard an update on diversity and inclusion among faculty at Dartmouth from Denise Anthony, vice provost for academic initiatives and N. Bruce Duthu ’80, associate dean of the faculty for international studies and interdisciplinary programs. Anthony discussed progress being made on the Inclusive Excellence initiative and encouraged the committee to look at the data on the Dartmouth website to learn even more. When the floor was opened for Q&A, the subject of tenure was raised. The faculty members on the committee shared information about the tenure process at Dartmouth, currently under review by the Committee Advisory to the President. The committee expressed interest in further updates about progress in this area at future meetings.

The chair thanked the presenters and the committee, and adjourned the meeting at 10 a.m.