December 1–4, 2010

The Student Affairs Committee met from 7:30 to 9:30 am Friday, December 3, 2010. There were several items on the agenda:

1. Dean of the College Sylvia Spears covered the recent reorganization of the dean of the College division, including the creation of seven associate dean and director positions within the division. Several of the associate deans and directors were introduced at the meeting. Dean Spears emphasized various goals of the reorganizational plan, one of which is to make the dean of the College office more user friendly and to eliminate duplication of services.

2. Professor Gregg Fairbrothers ’76 of the Tuck School of Business gave an excellent presentation on the Dartmouth Entrepreneurial Network (DEN), which he founded in 2000. The purpose of this program is to work with students, faculty, researchers, and alumni to support entrepreneurial initiatives by providing advice and resources for these individuals. He brought two student entrepreneurs with him who outlined their entrepreneurial endeavors and how the DEN helped facilitate their ideas.

3. Eric Tanner ’11, president of the Dartmouth Undergraduate Student Assembly, gave a report outlining the assembly’s activities, which included school spirit initiatives on “big game” days this fall, as well as input into the Ledyard swim dock closing this past summer. Marcella Lucas, chair of the Graduate Student Council, spoke about her organization’s role in improving the Dartmouth experience for graduate students, which includes health and dental insurance needs, social venues, etc.